Week 1: 9/5 – 9/12

I have successfully completed week one of the CREU blog. During this time I have met the other 3 members of my team and our two advisers. We were tasked with reading a couple papers about recommender systems.

  • Association Rules- Support and Confidence.
  • Data Mining: Apriori Algorithm
  • Mining Association Rules

Once we were done reading those papers we were given our first real assignment:

  1. Use association rules to develop an ordered list of deals as a recommendation for Alice.

One big struggle of mine is procrastination, and so its 10pm the night before the meeting with the CREU team to discuss our answers and I am unsure on how to finish the problem. I think I have figured the first 3/4th of the problem but am stuck on the last 1/4th. This is a small problem as I have had a week to look over it and figure it out. Tomorrow before our team meeting I plan on asking the adviser to look over my work and give me a small nudge in the right direction.

 

Moving onward I plan on:

  • Looking at the research more than the day before it is due.
  • Read more papers and learn more about recommender systems.
  • Talk more with the group members and bounce ideas off of one another.

All in all I would say it was a successful first week!

 

“With the new day comes new strength and new thoughts.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

 

Leave a comment